We Live and Learn

Currently I’m binge watching on Dead To Me, while JR has a nap and the weather is so lovely outside! We’ve had our one hour exercise so now we are indoors for the rest of the day!

The life of Quarantine! Nothing could have ever prepared us for this lockdown literally! I remember two days before the lockdown commenced, hubby and I were super excited as we had a date night planned. I had also just met my new managers, as God had blessed me with a new job. Then… POW! Boris Johnson announces a national lockdown, and we are told to stay in our homes, restaurants were closed, gyms closed, all non-essential stores were closed, people started working from home!

Woah! Just like that everything shut down. I was basically jobless, I stopped taking JR to nursery and hubby was told to stay home and only go to work based on a rota. It just felt like an episode of Black Mirror, it was all too weird!

But here we are, on a sunny bank holiday weekend…. at home! But I try not to complain, because as I mentioned in my previous posts (if you’ve not read them go back and read guyssssss), it’s a time to be very grateful and continue to have faith in any situation God puts us in.

I’ve learnt how to be more creative with JR! We’ve enjoyed more arts and crafts, reading, learning, role play, and I’ve just been getting to know him MORE! Like understand what an amazing smart little boy he is becoming and just learning more about myself! I’ve learnt how resilient I can be, I’ve also learnt that I don’t like to ask for help and think I can do anything, I know I’m a super mama but it’s actually ok to not always be ok and just need some time out!

I’ve noticed since I’ve starting planning mine and JR’s week ahead, it helps keep me accountable. I know what activities I’m going to do with him, it also helps keep me on top of all my tasks and it ensures that I workout at some point everyday. I also make sure I ALWAYS start my day by speaking to God, reading my bible app (hubby and I usually read bible plans together then discuss), and I also like to read my Joyce Meyer Devotional, she always helps me kickstart my day. Somehow, each message she delivers resonates with me.

Two AMAZING books by my favourite author and pastor – Joyce Meyer.

I think finding your best coping mechanisms can help if you ever feel down during this time. It’s normal, we are all human, and we are currently facing something we have never experienced before. I enjoy reading my bible to find verses that I can pray on, I also enjoy binge watching my favourite series on Netflix, or going for a solo walk to just clear my head.

Today is the day we find out what Boris will decide to do after 7 weeks in lockdown. I will be honest, I’m anxious, I think I really dislike not knowing what is happening. However, I then remind myself that God says we should not worry about the future, no matter how much we worry it’s not going to change anything.

For now I’m enjoying just being still, spending quality time with my son, and just learning how to deal with situations in a life a bit better.

Quite a lengthy read, got quite carried away writing so thank you for sticking with me! Next okay I think I will document some of the activities that I do with JR. Till then stay safe lovelies x

Leave a comment